“I am the Lord of the Dance, said He”

01Apr07

Our church has a Palm Sunday tradition: we dance around in the aisles, wave our arms and our palm brances, and jubilantly sing “Lord of the Dance” (here’s a link to info about the song). If I had to pick my favorite time in the entire Christian calendar, it might be this particular moment (partly because I really love this hymn; the tune is an old Shaker hymn, which only adds to its coolness). I always look forward to this jubilant welcome of Jesus into our midst. What a wonderful celebration to take us into Holy Week and into the joys and hope of Easter. Picture in your mind this: 65 year-old women, 30 year-old men, and 4 year-old children dancing in the light of Christ’s love, and singing (last verse of the hymn):

“They cut me down and I leapt up high,
I am the life that’ll never, never die;
I’ll live in you if you’ll live in me;
I am the Lord of the Dance, said he.”

Let the Lord lead you in His Dance. Let us be ever mindful that He lives in us and through us this Holy Week.

No Responses Yet to ““I am the Lord of the Dance, said He””

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

